Skip to Content

Press Releases

Find a Doctor


To search Houston doctors, please select a specialty & submit your Zip Code below.

Advanced Search
Search by Doctor's Name

Schedule Now

Memorial Hermann’s StepHealthy Program Gets Community Moving With Free Zumba, a Walk in the Park and Community Food Fair

HOUSTON (May15, 2018)

As part of a collaborative effort to encourage families to embrace healthier lifestyles, Memorial Hermann is teaming up with several community partners to offer physical fitness classes at two Houston parks.

Memorial Hermann’s StepHealthy program is free and open to the public. The events are scheduled every third Saturday of the month at Castillo Park and every fourth Saturday of the month at Moody Park, with fun activities that include a short walk in the part or a short Zumba segment. After the fun-filled physical activities the participants will receive a bag of groceries.

In addition to fun activities, participants receive education on the benefits of exercise, including practical tips on how to incorporate physical fitness into their daily routines.

“Along with our partners, we are transforming neighborhood parks into fun places where families can get moving together,” said Carol Paret, senior vice president and chief community health officer at Memorial Hermann. “A healthier community starts with healthy families, and regular physical fitness is critically important to maintaining good physical and mental health.”

The StepHealthy program is part of a broader initiative by Memorial Hermann, in partnership with Avenue, the Houston Health Department, Wesley Community Center and the Houston Parks and Recreation Department, to promote the importance of exercise through education and fun activities. It’s one component of the recently announced Bridging Health and Safety (BHAS) project in the Near Northside, a nationally recognized effort to mobilize resources, attention and action upstream to prevent health problems, lower costs and promote health equity in Houston’s historic Near Northside neighborhood.

WHERE:       

Castillo Park

1100 Quitman St.

Houston, TX 77009

 

Moody Park

3725 Fulton St.

Houston, TX 77009

MARK YOUR CALENDAR:

Castillo Park

  • Saturday, June 16 at 10 a.m.
  • Saturday, July 21 at 10 a.m.
  • Saturday, Aug. 18 at 10 a.m.
  • Saturday, Sept. 15 at 10 a.m.
  • Saturday, Oct. 20 at 10 a.m.

Moody Park

  • Saturday, April 28 at 10 a.m.
  • Saturday, May 19 at 10 a.m.
  • Saturday, June 23 at 10 a.m.
  • Saturday, July 28 at 10 a.m.
  • Saturday, Aug. 25 at 10 a.m.
  • Saturday, Sept. 22 at 10 a.m.
  • Saturday, Oct. 27 at 10 a.m.
  • Saturday, Nov. 17 at 10 a.m.
  • Saturday, Dec. 15 at 10 a.m.

For more information call (713) 338-5983.