HUMBLE, TEXAS (July 09, 2014)

Employees Recognized with Healthcare Excellence AwardsFour Memorial Hermann Northeast Hospital employees have been recognized for their clinical expertise, leadership, attention to quality, and superior patient care.

Nominated by fellow employees and selected by a special employee selection committee, the 2014 Memorial Hermann Northeast Healthcare Excellence Awards award recipients are Kathy Kelsoe, R.N.; Jenna Mendoza, R.N.; Jennifer Cox-Scott, P.C.T., and Yesenia Garcia.

A staff nurse in the Memorial Hermann Northeast Intensive Care Unit for 13 years, Kelsoe was honored with the Nursing Excellence Award. Mendoza, an educator on the hospital’s Medical/Surgical Unit, was selected for the Support Services Excellence Award. A patient care technician on the Post Anesthesia Care Unit, Cox-Scott was acknowledged with the Unlicensed Caregiver Excellence Award. Garcia, a technician in the Memorial Hermann Northeast Sterile Processing Unit, received the Ancillary Clinical Staff Excellence Award.

In addition, the hospital’s Surgical Care Unit also was recognized with the Memorial Hermann Northeast Team Excellence Award for its significant improvement in patient satisfaction scores.

A leader in quality and patient safety, Memorial Hermann Northeast has been recognized by the American Heart Association and the American Stroke Association as a Gold Plus Stroke Facility, designated as a Primary Stroke Center by the Southwest Texas Regional Advisory Council, and recognized as a Top Performer on key quality measures by The Joint Commission.