HOUSTON (March 03, 2016)
Dr. Sebastian HerreraThe Memorial Hermann Mischer Neuroscience Institute at the Texas Medical Center (MNI) and the McGovern Medical School at UTHealth are pleased to announce the addition of Sebastian R. Herrera, M.D. Dr. Herrera will serve as a neurosurgeon at Mischer Neuroscience Associates-The Woodlands as well as Mischer Neuroscience Associates-Cypress. He will also serve as an assistant professor at McGovern Medical School at UTHealth’s Vivian L. Smith Department of Neurosurgery.

Dr. Herrera specializes in neurological surgery and the minimally invasive treatment of brain and spine disorders. He has special interest in the treatment of primary and metastatic brain tumors, skull base tumors, endoscopic surgery for pituitary adenomas, minimally invasive spine surgery, facial pain, peripheral nerve disorders and normal pressure hydrocephalus.

“The addition of a neurosurgeon like Dr. Herrera to our outstanding staff at Mischer Neuroscience Associates brings tremendous benefit to the patients we serve,” said Geoffrey Zubay, M.D., UTHealth neurosurgeon with Mischer Neuroscience Associates. “His experience in neurological surgery and minimally invasive treatment of brain and spine disorders will aide us in continuing to provide excellent care to our patients as well as a safe and accelerated recovery process.”

Dr. Herrera is a transitional member of the Congress of Neurological Surgeons and is a co-author of articles that have appeared in the Journal of Neurosurgery, Surgical Neurology International, and Neurosurgical Focus and Core Techniques in Operative Neurosurgery.

Originally from Cartagena, Colombia, Dr. Herrera completed his neurosurgical residency at the University of Illinois at Chicago Medical Center, where he was chief resident. Prior to joining Mischer Neuroscience Associates, he served as a staff neurosurgeon at Southern Arizona VA Health Care Systems and held a concurrent appointment as clinical professor of surgery in the division of neurosurgery at the University of Arizona College of Medicine.