HOUSTON (January 15, 2015)

Memorial Hermann-Texas Medical Center (TMC) and Children’s Memorial Hermann Hospital are proud to announce the two individuals selected as their 2014 Physicians of the Year: Prakash Balan, MD, UTHealth cardiovascular disease specialist affiliated with the Memorial Hermann Heart & Vascular Institute-TMC, and Alfredo Gei, MD, UTHealth OB/GYN and maternal fetal medicine specialist affiliated with Children’s Memorial Hermann Hospital.

Dr. Balan’s many nominations recognized him as being “dedicated,” “caring toward both patients and staff,” and “not just a great doctor but a great person of respect and admiration.” Dr. Gei also was spoken highly of by his peers who noted he is “innovative through his implementation of so many new ideas,” “constantly compassionate,” and “able to easily connect with patients and their loved ones.”

The physicians were chosen after numerous nominations by their colleagues. They were presented with their awards last week at a celebratory dinner for Campus leadership, physicians, the honorees and their guests.