THE WOODLANDS, TEXAS (January 18, 2010)

Woodlands primary stroke centerThe Texas Department of State Health Services has designated Memorial Hermann The Woodlands Medical Center as a "primary stroke center." The hospital is the first in Montgomery County to receive this designation.

"The purpose of our new stroke facility designation program is to establish a framework for developing a voluntary, statewide emergency treatment system for stroke victims," said Jane Guerrero, Director of the Office of EMS / Trauma Systems Coordination at DSHS. "Patterned after our well-established trauma system, stroke designation will allow stroke victims to be rapidly transported to and treated in appropriate stroke-treatment facilities."

Strokes are the third leading cause of death and the leading cause of disability in America. There are over 4 million Americans living with the consequences of a stroke.

"This designation is a result of the hard work by physicians and staff at Memorial Hermann The Woodlands who ensure that the very best care in stroke treatment is offered to the residents of North Houston," said Josh Urban, Memorial Hermann The Woodlands Chief Operating Officer.

Other hospitals designated include: Memorial Hermann-Texas Medical Center; Memorial Hermann Memorial City Medical Center; Memorial Hermann Southwest Hospital; Cypress Fairbanks Medical Center; and San Jacinto Methodist Hospital.

All hospitals worked voluntarily with one another and with Emergency Medical Service providers to develop a strong system that will improve timely care for patients, reduce the burden of stroke and improve survival outcomes in the Houston community.