HUMBLE, TEXAS (January 03, 2011)

Dr. Curling is a board-certified anesthesiologist who has practiced on the Memorial Hermann Northeast Hospital campus since 1998. She earned her doctor of medicine degree and completed her internship and residency in anesthesia and in internal medicine at The University of Texas Medical School at Houston. She also completed a fellowship in cardiothoracic anesthesiology at Emory University in Atlanta. She completed her master's degree in business administration at the University of Tennessee in Knoxville.

Dr. Curing is vice-president of the Texas Society of Anesthesiologists, president of Northeast Houston Anesthesiologist, a delegate to the American Society of Anesthesiologists, and a member of the Texas Coast Anesthesiologists. She also is a member of the American Medical Association, the American Society of Anesthesiologists, the International Anesthesia Research Society, the Society of Cardiovascular Anesthesiologists and the Texas Medical Center.

Hawkins is a coordinator in the Patient Access Department at Memorial Hermann Northeast Hospital. She coordinates her department's education and training as well as assisting with staffing coverage, payroll and management support.

Dr. Curling and Hawkins were both nominated by Memorial Hermann Northeast employees and selected by a committee of their peers. To qualify, both Dr. Curling and Hawkins must be exemplary and personify the Memorial Hermann culture. They must go above and beyond to create exceptional experiences for patients. They must exemplify the Memorial Hermann behaviors - accountability, innovation, collaboration, compassion, competency and respect, and the Memorial Hermann operating principles - patient-centered, evidence driven, measurable excellence, operational discipline and systemness. Dr. Curling was nominated for the leadership she has shown in the anesthesiology department at Memorial Hermann Northeast as well as for her leadership as the hospital's chief of staff for the last two years.

ne nomination form for Dr. Curling said, "Her term as chief of staff included many advances. Under her leadership, the hospital was named the Quality Gold Circle award winner in 2009 and the Press Ganey Top Improver winner in 2010, and her leadership contributed significantly to advances in the hospital's quality, customer satisfaction and growth."

One nomination form for Hawkins said she "…displayed many innovative ideas in scheduling patients, setting up timely pre-registration and making patient access to hospital services a seamless process. She interacts with her patients and staff with natural charm and charisma and conveys a willingness to help others."

Dr. Curling and Hawkins will be honored by the hospital at a special reception in January.