Memorial Hermann’s Professional Practice Model Nursing Challenge Coin

Memorial Hermann Health System’s own Nursing Challenge Coin recognizes nurses who exhibit the core values of the Memorial Hermann Nursing Professional Practice Model (PPM) and embody the Memorial Hermann service standards.

  • Core values: community, compassion, courage and credibility
  • Nursing philosophy that demonstrates empowerment to optimize practice in the delivery of quality care
  • Nursing vision of excellence that creates healthier communities now and for generations to come
  • Service standards: safe, caring, personalized and efficient nursing practice

Any nurse employee (RN, LVN, APRN) in any setting (clinical or non-clinical) can receive a nursing challenge coin by exhibiting these qualities.

Daisy Foundation Group Photo
Pictured are Bonnie (far left) and Mark Barnes, Co-founders of The DAISY Foundation™, and Cindy Lefton (far right), Director of Research and Patient Experience for The DAISY Foundation™. All three served as keynote speakers at the Memorial Hermann Institute for Nursing Excellence’s first annual Nursing Summit in 2024. They are photographed with Memorial Hermann System Director of Clinical Excellence and Professional Development Jody Collins, MSN, RN, NPD-BC (in green top).

DAISY Awards

Extraordinary nursing on an individual and team basis is recognized by The DAISY FoundationTM DAISY Award®. It honors the work nurses do at the bedside every day. The award focuses on the compassionate care and memorable moments our nurses provide their patients and patient’s families, as well as their outstanding clinical skills.

Scores of Memorial Hermann nurses, nominated by patients, families and co-workers, have been honored with the DAISY Award®. DAISY Award Honorees are selected throughout the year to provide a continuous celebration of extraordinary nurses.

Memorial Hermann campuses celebrate their DAISY Award Honorees by presenting them with a beautiful hand-carved Healer’s Touch Sculpture from Zimbabwe, an honoree pin, DAISY portfolio and certificate.

Being a DAISY Honoree is a life-long designation and the nurse is eligible for numerous professional development, education and wellness benefits through the Foundation.

Local, State and National Nursing Recognitions

Memorial Hermann is consistently recognized for nursing excellence by an array of prestigious certifications and awards earned at the system, campus, unit and individual levels.

Following are some of the key local, state and national recognitions.

Magnet Recognized LogoMagnet Recognition

Eight Memorial Hermann hospitals have earned the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) Magnet Recognition® an affirmation of exemplary nursing professionalism, teamwork and excellence in patient care.

Learn More

Good Samaritan Awards

The Good Samaritan Foundation Excellence in Nursing Award annually recognizes nurses for their leadership at the bedside and the compassionate and extraordinary care they deliver to patients and their families.

2023 winners included 320 nurses from Memorial Hermann: 316 bronze winners, two silver winners and two gold winners.

View Memorial Hermann’s 2023 Excellence in Nursing award recipients »

Houston Chronicle Salute to Nurses

Annually, area hospitals, clinics, schools and patients recognize their most dedicated nurses by submitting nominations for the Houston Chronicle’s Salute to Nurses including a list of Top 15 (and Top 200) nurses. Honorees are selected by a panel of educators, professionals and leaders in the field for their work.

See Memorial Hermann’s honored nurses under Top 15 and Top 200 »

See our published 2023 recognition ad »

Texas Nurses Association 25 Outstanding Texas Nurses Award

The Texas Nurses Association (TNA) annually recognizes the contributions of 25 select registered nurses who have made a profound difference in the lives of others.

View honored nurses »

Beacon Award for Excellence

The Beacon Award for Excellence, presented by the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses, recognizes units that distinguish themselves by providing high-quality patient care in a healthy work environment. See the many Memorial Hermann units recognized under Find a Beacon Unit.


The PRISM Award, presented by the Academy of Medical-Surgical Nurses, recognizes medical-surgical units that provide exemplary patient care. The PRISM is the premier recognition in medical-surgical practice. See the list of recognized Memorial Hermann units by viewing recent recipients.

For Nurses